• slider2
  • slider1


Initially the Department, namely Public Works Department (PWD), consisted of Irrigation Department, Building Department, Roads Department and Public Health Engineering Department. With the passage of time these Departments started parting ways from each other and become totally independent with separate budget and name. Before early 60’s, Building and Road Department (B&R) was one Department later on it was bifurcated in two Departments, each one was headed by Separate Chief Engineer under Secretary, C&W Department. After Devolution in 2001, Communication & Works Department was renamed as Works & Services Department.